Home > Development of SPICA

International Mission

SPICA is a space mission based on international collaboration with participation from institutions in Japan, European countries, Canada and the US (under consideration). The SPICA team has been working closely together for a targeted launch in 2027-2028. The present goal for the Japanese team is to be accepted as an ISAS/JAXA Strategic Mission for space science, while that of the European counterpart is to win through in the process of the ESA Cosmic Vision M-class (M5) selection.

The current workshare plan between the international teams is shown below: Japan is mainly responsible for the payload module, cryocooler, and the mid-infrared instrument SMI. The cryocooler is the outcome of the Japanese cutting-edge cryogenic technology. The launcher for SPICA is planned to be the H3 Launch Vehicle, the next flagship rocket of JAXA. The European team has responsibility mainly for the service module and the telescope, the SAFARI Consortium for the far-infrared instrument SAFARI.


Fig. 1   The current workshare plan between the international teams (as of Nov. 2015)

↑ To Top

SPICA International Science Advisory Board

Name Affiliation
Dr. Yuri Aikawa Tsukuba University
Dr. Phillip Andre CEA, Saclay
Dr. Michael Barlow University College London
Dr. Andrew Blein University of Leicester
Dr. Ewine van Dishoeck Leiden Observatory, University of Leiden
Dr. David Elbaz (Chair) CEA, Saclay
Dr. Reinhard Genzel Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics,
University California Barkeley
Dr. George Helou Infrared Processing and Analysis Center,
California Institute of Technology
Dr. Roberto Maiolino Cavendish Laboratory, Kavli Institute for Cosmology,
University of Cambridge
Dr. Margaret Meixner Space Telescope Science Institute
Dr. Tsutomu Takeuchi Nagoya University

↑ To Top

SPICA Japan Team

Component University, Institute
Payload Module, Cryocoolers JAXA, Resarch and Development Directorate
Mid-Infrared Instrument (SMI) SMI consortium
· Nagoya University
· Osaka University
· University of Tokyo
· Tohoku University
· Kyoto University
SPICA Data Center National Astronomical Observatory of Japan (NAOJ)

↑ To Top

Development Status

Planned Schedule

  • FY2016
    • ESA Cosmic Vision M5 proposal deadline
  • FY2017
    • ESA Cosmic Vision M5 fist selection
  • FY2018
    • Approval as a ISAS Strategic Mission for space science
  • FY2019
    • ESA Cosmic Vision M5 final selection
  • FY2027-28
    • Launch

Past Milestones

  • FY2015
    • The new SPICA plan passed the Mission Definition Review by ISAS/JAXA, in which the purpose, and its goals and objectives were redefined.
  • FY2013
    • The new SPICA plan started heading for the launch in 2020s.
  • FY2011
    • The "Risk Mitigation Phase" started to cope with the most critical technical issues.
  • FY2010
    • The SPICA original plan passed the Mission Requirement Review by ISAS/JAXA, followed by the conceptual design phase.
  • FY2008
    • The SPICA pre-project Team was established after the approval in the JAXA Project Readiness Review.
    • The conceptual study was conducted jointly by ESA and JAXA.
  • FY2007
    • The proposal for SPICA was submitted to ISAS/JAXA and approved in the Mission Definition Review.
    • The SPICA team also applied for the ESA Cosmic Vision (M1, 2) and was chosen as a candidate of the Mission of Opportunity. The conceptual study started then.
    • SPICA Mission Proposal (ver.2; written in Japanese)

↑ To Top

SPICA Science Team

SPICA Science Task Force

SPICA Science Task Force
Masatoshi Imanishi (NAOJ) Toshiya Ueta
(University of Denver)
Eiichi Egami
(Univ. of Arizona)
Keigo Enya (ISAS)
Takafumi Ootsubo
(University of Tokyo)
Takashi Onaka
(University of Tokyo)
Hidehiro Kaneda
(Nagoya University)
Itsuki Sakon
(University of Tokyo)
Kotaro Kohno
(University of Tokyo)
Tohru Nagao
(Ehime University)
Misato Fukagawa (NAOJ) Mikako Matsuura
(University College London)
Taro Matsuo
(Osaka University)
Munetake Momose
(Ibaraki University)
Toru Yamada (ISAS) Satoshi Yamamoto
(University of Tokyo)
Takehiko Wada (ISAS)

SPICA Science Study Team

Core Team
Peter Roelfsema Hiroshi Shibai Takashi Onaka Hidehiro Kaneda
Kees Wafelbakker Willem Jellema Bruce Sibthorpe

Lead Scientists
Toru Yamada Kotaro Kohno Tohru Nagao Satoshi Yamamoto
Jean-Loup Puget Jesus Martin-Pintado Matt Griffin

Core Science Team Members
Carlotta Gruppioni Eckhard Sturm Luigi Spinoglio Floris van der Tak
Ciska Kemper Franz Kerschbaum Inga Kamp Marc Audard
Bruce Swinyard Lee Armus Alberto Franceschini Dimitra Rigopoulou
Eiichi Egami Hideo Matsuhara Martin Giard Istuki Sakon
Mikako Matsuura Yasuo Doi Goran Olofsson Keigo Enya
Leen Decin Toshiya Ueta Takao Nakagawa Takehiko Wada
Dae-Hee Lee Chris Pearson Francesca Pozzi Maarten Baes
Masatoshi Imanishi Myungshin Im Ryouhei Kawabe Suzanne Madden
Albrecht Poglitch Christine Joblin Frank Helmich Paco Najarro
Carsten Dominik Rens Waters Takafumi Ootsubo Misato Fukagawa
Munetake Momose

↑ To Top